Yuying Ye Graduate Scholarship

Key information

1. The Yuying Ye Graduate Scholarship funds the full course fees and a study support grant for one student for the 2021-23 cohort for the duration of their course. The Scholarship is awarded on the basis of eligibility and criteria set out below.

2. One scholarship is available for the MSc commencing in October 2021.  It covers the course fees for the first six terms of registration (the MSc is normally completed over two years). It will also provide a study support grant for living costs of a part-time student, for the full duration of the student's fee liability (at least £10,406 over the duration of the two-year course).

3. If the awardee suspends their studies for one or more terms, the Scholarship will not automatically be carried over—they should contact the Senior Course Administrator to request this.


4. Graduate students who are nationals of the People’s Republic of China, ordinarily resident outside the United Kingdom and the EEA(**) and intending to leave Great Britain on completion of their studies, demonstrating exceptional academic merit and/or potential, commencing an MSc course of study in Sustainable Urban Development at the University and affiliated with Kellogg College.

5. Complete applications for admission must be received by 30 April 2021 to be considered.

6. All eligible applicants whose completed application was submitted for the November and Late-January 2021 deadlines, and who are offered a place on the MSc, will also be considered for the Scholarship.

7. This award is conditional on the holder becoming a member of Kellogg College. All eligible applicants, who apply by the deadline, will be considered for the Scholarship, regardless of which college (if any) you state as your preference on the graduate application form. However, successful applicants will be transferred to Kellogg College in order to take up the Scholarship.


8. The Scholarship will be awarded on the basis of outstanding academic merit and/or potential, and, given the 'professional' nature of the course, consideration will be given to candidates' professional experience, and their demonstrable commitment and ability to contribute significantly to the field of sustainable urban development. Key criteria include:

(a) Academic excellence, where indicators may include: a high-level qualification in a relevant discipline (such as a first-class or strong upper second-class undergraduate degree with honours, US GPA of 3.7, or equivalent, distinction at Master’s level, or a doctoral degree); individual marks on a student’s transcript; information on a student’s overall position within their cohort; and relevant published work.

(b) Professional experience: Evidence of a strong record of relevant professional achievement, and a demonstrably successful history of continuing professional development and commitment to the candidate’s profession. Indicators may include the candidate’s CV, personal statement, testimonials and/or professional references.

(c) Motivation and potential future contribution to the field: Applications should demonstrate the potential to make an ongoing professional contribution to the built environment, and to contribute significantly to sustainable urban development (either during or following completion of the MSc). Indicators may include the candidate’s personal statement, interview performance and/or professional references.


9. A panel (comprising at least two University staff) will assess candidates according to the criteria above, and may consider any written and/ or oral components of candidates’ MSc applications. 

10. The Panel may propose a ranked shortlist, whereby the Scholarship, if declined by the first candidate, will be offered to the next one, and so on.

Offer and acceptance

11. The awardee is normally contacted in early June, and will be given a deadline to confirm their acceptance.

12. The course webpage will indicate when the Scholarship has been awarded.  Unsuccessful candidates will not be notified individually. Please note that we cannot provide individual feedback on the Panel’s decision.

Further information

13. For any queries about the Scholarship, please email the course team at sud@conted.ox.ac.uk.


(**) The European Economic Area (EEA) includes EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) and also Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.